In general the question to this question is…..Possibly. Lawyerly answer right? Let me explain. Let’s say to back into a mailbox, hit your garage pulling in, or something along those lines. If it’s a one-time event, you rates may not increase much, if at all, assuming you have a good driving record. Remember, an insurer evaluates risk. So as long as you are not deemed high risk, you should be good with making a claim.
Here’s where it gets tricky. You bring the car to a repair shop and they tell you its $900.00 to fix but your deductible is $1,000.00. In such a case don’t make the claim because you have to pay for the damages anyway. I would also suggest not making the claim if the damages were $1,100.00 or $1,200.00. As I mentioned above, it still is possible that such a claim slightly increases your rates. Why risk a rate increase over $100.00 or $200.00 when the increase could possibly exceed that. Remember that this applies to single car accidents too. So always evaluate the damage of the car versus the potential increase in rates.
Finally, if you are injured in a one car accident in Florida, even if you are at fault, you will have to use you personal injury protection benefits. That will have to be billed before your health insurance benefits will kick in. It doesn’t mean you are suing anyone, but in Florida your personal injury protection insurance is primary over all other insurance coverage until it exhausts.
Contact Horst Law Firm today to discuss your available options and schedule a consultation with our Florida injury attorneys.